Fearing Failure

Let’s be real here. I am deathly afraid of failing. So much so, that I specifically don’t make lists in my day, for fear of not finishing everything on my list, therefore failing to finish. Or if I am not 100% sure of my next step, I won’t take any steps at all.

And if I am not mistaken, I can bet that there are many of you out there that fear failure. We don’t like to fail, and we certainly don’t like to admit to God when we fail.

But my dad was talking to me tonight, and we were discussing just stress and fears and failures in our lives, and my dad had some really insightful things to say about failure:

1) We need to leave ourselves some room for failure, because failing at some point is inevitable. We are human, so this is a part of our nature, so we need to allow for some grace to fall on, and not be so terribly hard on ourselves when we do fall.

2) We need to understand that God is never surprised by our failure. He knows every mistake we will make, every sin we will commit, before we even think about committing it. And He knows all the things that we will pursue and find that they don’t work out. God gives us grace and His mercies are new every morning, and we need to accept this grace in our lives.

3) We need to sometimes take some leaps of faith, knowing that it could possibly end in failure. In the words of good ol’ Babe Ruth,

“Never let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game!”

The Lord isn’t going to give us a neon sign indicating each and every step we should go, because He wants us to trust Him as we walk, sometimes blindly, and the beautiful thing is, that when Satan pushes us down, we fall onto the Jesus’ grace.

4) Jesus doesn’t pray that we won’t fail, because He knows that we are human. But He does pray that our faith in Him will not fail.

“Simon, Simon, behold, Satan demanded to have you, that he might sift you like wheat,but I have prayed for you that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned again, strengthen your brothers.” | Luke 22:31-32

Jesus longs for us to take our struggles to the Lord, and our failures, and present them to Him, and allow Him to use them to teach us stuff. Then He desires for us to then turn, and take what we have learned and teach others. Heck, that’s why I post on this blog. I am trying to be more consistent, because I know that there are people out there that need to hear these things that the Lord is teaching me just like I needed it!

So I encourage you to instead of fearing failure, and finding yourself either stagnant, or just a puddle of frustration and disappointment in yourself, take it to the Father, and ask Him for guidance, strength, and acceptance of His grace and love in your life. Remind yourself of His mighty hand, and His faithfulness in your life. You are not alone, so go ahead and fall…into Jesus’ ocean of grace.

“If His grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking.”

Leave a Reply

