Beholding His Glory

And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.” | 2 Corinthians 3:18

Image

What does it mean to “behold the glory of the Lord“?

As you can see, I have changed my blog quite a lot tonight. And I know I have been making a lot of changes lately, but let’s face it…I have been going through a lot of changes. I have been realizing this summer how insignificant I am compared to the God that I serve. I also realize that the only thing that I have been beholding, therefore reflecting to the world is myself. And what do I have to offer the world in comparison to Jesus Christ?

Nothing.

Absolutely nothing.

I was a TL(Team Leader) at Super Summer a few weeks ago, and the theme this year was Beholding the Glory of the Lord, and it comes from the verse that is quoted above in this post, and that is now the theme of this blog. This passage is so interesting because of a few things:

1) When it talks about an “unveiled face“, it is referring to when Moses would come from the presence of the Lord, he would have his face veiled. He did this not only because it would freak people out, but because the glory would fade from Moses’ face when he was away from the Lord’s presence, and it would cause sadness among the people.

2) BUT the beauty of the New Covenant is that when we turn to Jesus, our faces are unveiled so that we can behold the glory of the Lord, which in the new covenant is shown brightest through the gospel, and then begin a process of transformation in our lives because we are in the constant presence of the Lord because He dwells within us!

&

3) We as humans are reflectors. We reflect something, and it will either be darkness or light. When we are beholding the glory of the Lord, we begin transforming into the “same image“(reflection) of Jesus. So by doing this, we in turn are reflecting that glory(gospel) so that others may see who Christ is!

That all being said, I am convinced that the Lord wants me to be a reflector of His glory, and that He wants me to turn to Jesus to allow my face to continue to be unveiled, so that I might behold God’s glory and be forever transformed without fading.

My prayer is that I will continue to die to myself daily, and that I will become less of me and more of Him. Amen.

One thought on “Beholding His Glory

  1. brendon REiners

    You have such a pure heart little sister! Bless you as you seek the Fathers heart more and more each day!

Leave a Reply

