I Once Was Known, But Now I’m Found.

Image

Our human nature, as much as we try to fight it and be “independent” of the world and it’s views, we feed off of being Known. We are constantly looking for ways to be noticed, even if only subconsciously. I myself rack up confidence points when I get more than 50 likes on a Facebook post or Instagram picture. I define my wit, intellect or inner scholar based on the number of followers or retweets I obtain through my one-liners on Twitter. I feel this sense of accomplishment when I have more followers than I am following. Yet, at the end of the day, when I lay my inflated head down on my pillow of pride, my head is deflated from dissatisfaction. I lie awake, emptied, dried, restless and desperately trying to maintain a grip on that fleeting feeling of being Known…because behind closed doors, in the darkness of my room when I am left alone to face reality, I am not Known. When I leave this earth, I might remain a memory for a few years, maybe even a few decades. But at the end of that short time of remembrance, I won’t even be a fleeting thought. I will be a forgotten body rotting in the ground. My likes, my social network followers, and my one-liners will be cyberspace junk with no significance in the world. And like myself, you are not Known. You too will eventually leave this earth, and not even be a memory.

Now, before you close this post and get offended at my statements, please understand something: I’m not saying this to be a Debbie Downer and say that our lives don’t hold value. I am saying this, because instead of trying to make ourselves Known, we should be focusing on making Known someone who will never die, and who offers more through being Known than any of us ever could. As Believers, we are called to make Jesus Known in this world, and be imitators of Him, so that people will see Him in us. And by doing this, instead of being Known in this world, Christ is Known and we are Found in Christ.

7 But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ. Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of Knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be Found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith. | Philippians 3:7-9

So today, I count all of my efforts to be Known as loss for the sake of Knowing Christ and making Him Known. And I pray that in my confidence through Christ that I will be reminded that I am now Found in Him, and I have obtained His righteousness which is more satisfying than any like or retweet or follower I could ever obtain.

I once was Known, but now I’m Found.

Leave a Reply

